Current Time: February 21, 2018 23:45:05pm Last Update: February 21, 2018 15:36:13pm
Home|Forum|Conferences|Concepts|Research|TrueColour|Business Developemnt         
iWitness | Register | Login | Subscribe         

Life & Culture > Politics
Court jails three Ogun State’s PDP leaders over contempt
Addthis Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Gmail
By Luke Ajulo
July 4, 2012 18:05:04pm GMT      |      Views: 635

Lagos (WorldStage Newsonline)-- A Federal High Court in Lagos on Wednesday ordered that three chieftains of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) in Ogun State be remanded in prison custody for six months.

Those committed to prison by Justice Charles Archibong for flouting an order of the court include Chief Ireti Oniyide, Amb. Tunde Oladunjoye (now media aide to Agricculture Minister, Akin Adesina) and Hon Faisiu Bakenne who claimed to be principal officers of a purported Caretaker Committee of the party in the state.

Justice Archibong, who handed down the order, in a ruling, held that the three, convict, been agents of the PDP, should be remanded in prison for their continued violation of the order of the court contained in a May 2 judgment of the court.

The judge, however, failed to specific on which prison the three should be remanded or which agency should enforce the order.

The ruling was as a result of a committal proceedings initiated against the said PDP chieftains, the state’s Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) and its officials, by Chief Adebayo Dayo and Alhaji Semiu Sodipo for themselves and on behalf of the Ogun State Executive Committee of the PDP.

The applicants had alleged that those cited for contempt had continued to disobey the order of court by dealing with the state chapter of the party through other bodies aside the Adebayo Dayo -led Executive Committee, which the court had declared the valid executive body of the party in the May 2 judgment.


They had also accused some OGSIEC’s officials of circumventing the court order contained in the of May 2 judgment by accepting lists of candidates for the July 21 council election from other sources other than the Dayo led EXCO.

However, the court declined to make any order against officials of OGSIEC on the ground that the agency and its officials cited for contempt were not parties in the substantive suit.

The lucky OGSIEC’s officials include Alhaja Risikat Ogunfemi, Alhaji Korede Lawal, Alhaji Bisiyu Adekanmi, Mutiu Agboke, Oyediran Aina, Kolawole Odesanya and Adetokunbo Williams (described as the moving minds of OGSIEC).

According to Justice Archibong the court should not be seen as obstructing the electoral process in the state in view of the fact that the forthcoming council election formed the kernel of the dispute between parties.

But he warned that should OGSIEC proceed to accept list of candidates from sources other than the valid state Executive Committee headed by Adebayo Dayo, the electoral body will be opening itself and the outcome of the election for challenge at the appropriate quarters.

In the May 2 judgment, the court had also ordered the PDP, its National Chairman, Bamanga Tukur and National Secretary, Olagunsoye Oyinlola not to deal with the party in Ogun State except through  the Adebayo Dayo-led Executive Committee

The court had further restrained the PDP leaders from taking any step to prevent the officers that emerged from the congresses of the Soremi faction from concluding their four-year term as allowed by the constitution.

Addthis Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Gmail

Share |


Related News
- February 21, 2018 14:57:16pm GMT

- February 21, 2018 14:56:20pm GMT

- February 21, 2018 14:50:58pm GMT

- February 21, 2018 14:49:14pm GMT

- February 21, 2018 14:40:00pm GMT