Current Time: April 23, 2017 12:50:56pm Last Update: April 23, 2017 03:12:58am
Home|Forum|Conferences|Concepts|Research|TrueColour|Business Developemnt         
iWitness | Register | Login | Subscribe         

Life & Culture > Sports
Falconets return to camp on Sunday
Addthis Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Gmail
By Bunmi Ogunyale
June 28, 2012 16:22:08pm GMT      |      Views: 383
Aminu Maigari NFF president

WorldStage Newsonline—The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup-bound Falconets of Nigeria will resume camping in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja on Sunday, July 1.

The Nigerians girls, vice champions of the world, swept past Zimbabwe and Democratic Republic of Congo in the African qualifying series, reaching the finals to be played in Japan between August and September this year without conceding a goal, while scoring 13.

Inspirational skipper Gloria Ofoegbu tops the list of 35 players from which Head Coach Edwin Okon will pick his final list for the tournament that will be played in five Japanese cities between 19th

August and 8th September.

The Falconets have been drawn in Group B of the four-group preliminary phase, alongside Korea Republic, Brazil and Italy. They first play the Koreans in Saitama on August 19, before taking on Brazil in the same city three days later and then tackling Italy in Kobe on August 26.

Kobe’s dainty and exquisite World Cup stadium was the venue for the Super Eagles’ clash with Sweden at the 2002 FIFA World Cup finals, which the Eagles lost 1-2 after taking a first-half lead through Julius Aghahowa.

The cities of Tokyo, Kobe, Miyagi, Saitama and Hiroshima will host the sixth edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup finals.

The 35 players are expected to report at Serob Legacy Hotel, Wuye, Abuja.


Gloria Ofoegbu, Josephine Chukwunonye, Ebere Orji, Uchechi Sunday, Francisca Ordega, Ebubeleye Whyte, Jennifer Osawaru, Ugo Njoku, Grace, Eyebhoria, Chidinma Okoro (Rivers Angels), Ugochi Okafor, Chioma Nwankwo, Stella Henry, Blessing Edoho, Bukola Ogunnoiki (Pelican Stars), Cecilia Nku, Charity Adule (Bayelsa Queens) Desire Oparanozie, Ngozi Okobi, Jane David (Delta Queens), Asisat Oshoala (FC Robo), Lola Philips, Fasilat Adeyemo (Confluence Queens), Esther Sunday, Damilola Akano (Sunshine Queens), Prudent Ugoh (Nasarawa Amazons), Vivian Okotie, Osarenoma Igbinovia (Inneh Queens), Juliana Osuji (Nitto Queens), Abosede Olukayode, Charity Elibor (Cerezo Queens), Tina Chinyere (FCT Queens), Ayeniberun Opeyemi, Rosemary Okoro (Tokas Queens), Chiamaka Okafor (Tewo Queens)

Addthis Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Gmail

Share |


Related News
- April 23, 2017 03:12:58am GMT

- April 22, 2017 17:15:43pm GMT

- April 22, 2017 17:06:04pm GMT

- April 22, 2017 16:56:03pm GMT

- April 22, 2017 13:54:24pm GMT