Current Time: October 23, 2017 21:48:43pm Last Update: October 23, 2017 15:46:49pm
Home|Forum|Conferences|Concepts|Research|TrueColour|Business Developemnt         
iWitness | Register | Login | Subscribe         

Life & Culture > Sports
Governor Wike inaugurates LOC for the 2018 African Wrestling Championship
Addthis Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Gmail
By Press Release
October 4, 2017 10:32:43am GMT      |      Views: 336
Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike

Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike has inaugurated the Local Organising Committee (LOC) of the 2018 African Wrestling Championship, which will hold in Port Harcourt next February.

Inaugurating the committee at the Government House, Port Harcourt on Wednesday, Governor Wike charged members to organise a world class event.

He said: "This competition is important to Rivers State.  Give it all it takes. I urge you to start working immediately.

"Make sure that all the requirements are put in place for the championship.  I will personally  work to ensure that we have other sponsors for the event ".

The governor explained that the African Wrestling Championship will be given top priority  in the coming four months, as it will effectively  showcase Nigeria and Rivers State.

He urged the committee to work directly with security  agencies to ensure that there is no security  breach during the African Wrestling Championship.

Governor Wike specifically  charged  the Vice Chairman of the Local Organising Committee and President of the Nigeria Wrestling Federation, Mr Daniel Igali to bring his experience and expertise to the table for the success  of the event.

Responding on behalf of the committee, Rivers State Commissioner of Sports, Mr Boma Iyaye assured the governor that the committee  will deliver  on its mandate.

He said that the committee will conduct a hitch-free African Wrestling Championship that everyone will be proud of.

The following are members of the Local Organising Committee inaugurated by Governor Wike:

Boma Iyaye – Commissioner of Sports (Chairman),Daniel Igali – President Nigeria Wrestling Federation (Vice Chairman), Stephen Adue – Director (Admin), Ministry of Sports (Secretary),Barrister Emma Okah – Commissioner of Information (Member), Professor Princewill Chike – Commissioner of Health (Member) and Mrs Tonye Briggs Onyide – Commissioner of Culture (Member)

Others are: Mr Honour Sirawoo – President SWAN (Member), Representative of Federal Minister of Sports,Commissioner of Police/Rep member,Chief Jackson Bidei – (Representative of Nigeria Wrestling Federation),J.J Kio – Member,Ambassador Koko – Chief of Protocol/Senior special assistant and Falilat Ogunkoya – Nigeria Olympic Committee.

Addthis Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Gmail

Share |


Related News
- October 23, 2017 09:47:28am GMT

- October 18, 2017 03:55:59am GMT

- October 17, 2017 14:09:15pm GMT

- October 17, 2017 02:59:26am GMT

- October 16, 2017 07:02:09am GMT